"Unmasking You!" at BlackHat 09 and DefCon 17

Last week, I gave a presentation with Robert “RSnake” Hansen called “Unmasking You!” at BlackHat 09 and DefCon 17.

The slides and demos can be found at: http://spl0it.org/files/talks/defcon09/

Originally, we were only scheduled to speak at DefCon, but due to a last minute change we spoke at both venues. The backstory of how that occurred, is kind of funny so I figured I would share it with everyone who hasn’t heard it yet.

On July 26th, I decided to go out on a twilight fishing boat after a week long engagement in LA. We weren’t really having much luck catching fish, a few missed opportunities but no fish. As the sun began to set over the harbor, my expectations shifted to enjoying the evening and the week ahead in Las Vegas at BlackHat and DefCon. Around 10:30 or so, I got a call from “RSnake”, and he said “There has been a scheduling change, would you like to give the talk at BlackHat?” That was the only moment in my life, that I was happy I didn’t have a fish on my fishing line. I gladly accepted the invitation and knew that the next with 48 hours would be interesting, since I still needed to record many of my demos. Once I arrived in Vegas, I spent the majority of the time preparing all of the demos and getting things ready. The end result was around 9 recorded demos and 2 presentations.

Our presentations went really well and everyone had great comments and feedback. I had an amazing time hanging out with tons of friends who I only see once a year. I had a chance to meet Wade Alcorn (the author of BeEF). BeEF for those who have not used it, is an browser exploitation framework and it is very useful in performing penetration assessment. For the talks, I wrote all of my code and ported several of RSnake’s code to BeEF as modules, which will be included in the next release (should be out in a few weeks). All of the demos demonstrated methods that attackers can used to determine information about the victim’s machine.

I hope everyone enjoyed the talk and I look forward to seeing everyone again next year in Vegas!

Regards,

Jabra

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

